Episode nine: Stranger Reads

Episode Nine: Stranger Reads

In this episode we talk about what we’re reading and new and upcoming book release that we are excited for.

About the hosts

Discover more about Mary, Jackie and Caitlyn

Books mentioned

Agents of Dreamland by Caitlin R. Kiernan
*Caitlyn’s read

After haunting events occur at a cult compound, two intelligence agents meet in Arizona to exchange information about what happened, while contact is lost with one of NASA’s interplanetary probes and something beyond Pluto’s orbit makes contact.

 

 

 

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
*Mary’s read

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend neverhappened—are in fact the ones that define us. In Lets Pretend This NeverHappened , Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

*Mary also read The Strange Library and The Exorcist.

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
*Leigh’s read

After the sudden death of their parents, the three Baudelaire children must depend on each other and their wits when it turns out that the distant relative who is appointed their guardian is determined to use any means necessary to get their fortune.

 

The Horse Dancer by Jojo Moyes
*Jackie’s read

When her grandfather is ill, her life takes an unexpected turn, forcing Sarah, and her horse Boo, to rely on Natasha, a lawyer whose job is to represent the best interests of children.

 

 

 

 

New and upcoming releases

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
*available now!

Hoping to gather information on Tamlin and the invading king threatening Prythian, Feyre plays a deadly game of deceit while trying to find allies.

 

 

 

 

Dead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton
*release September 5, 2017

Just before dawn in the hills near the Scottish border, a man murders a young woman. At the same time, a hot-air balloon crashes out of the sky. There’s just one survivor. She’s seen the killer’s face – but he’s also seen hers. And he won’t rest until he’s eliminated the only witness to his crime. Alone, scared, trusting no one, she’s running to where she feels safe – but it could be the most dangerous place of all..

 

 

The Reason You’re Alive by Matthew Quick
*release July 2017

After sixty-eight-year-old David Granger crashes his BMW, medical tests reveal a brain tumor that he readily attributes to his wartime Agent Orange exposure. He wakes up from surgery repeating a name no one in his civilian life has ever heard—that of a Native American soldier whom he was once ordered to discipline. David decides to return something precious he long ago stole from the man he now calls Clayton Fire Bear. It may be the only way to find closure in a world increasingly at odds with the one he served to protect. It may also help him to finally recover from his wife’s untimely demise.

Beartown by Fredrik Backman
*available now!

Backman’s most complex novel to date takes place in the small, hockey-crazed village of Beartown. He deftly weaves together the stories of the players, the coaches, the parents, and the fans as Beartown’s hockey team chases its dream of winning a championship. Weighty themes are explored. How high a price is too high for success? How deadly is silence? Who can you trust with your secrets? How far will you compromise your beliefs in the name of friendship? There are no easy answers. A great book club choice. — Janet Lockhart for LibraryReads.

The Lovecraft Squad: All Hallows Horror! by John Llewellyn Probert
*available now!

Parapsychologists investigate All Hallows Church to try and get to the bottom of the mysteries that surround it and uncover an ancient, unimaginable evil originally brought to life by H.P. Lovecraft’s imagination, in the first novel of a new trilogy.